how i knit to stay sane

November 28, 2008

Autumn Leaves

Filed under: Uncategorized — K @ 9:19 am

I was recently struck by a gorgeous craft on Make and Takespressed leaves framed on scrapbook paper.  It took me all of a day to hunt down my closest craft store (sue me….  I go to the LYS weekly!) and return home with three sheets of coordinating paper, an industrial sized bottle of Mod Podge, and a value pack of foam “brushes”.

I wanted to dress up the area around my computer, which is in the eat-in kitchen.  That area has been very plain since we moved in, and with nothing on the walls, the eye of any visitors is naturally drawn to the mess on my computer desk and any crumbs under the table.

Fair warning — my leaves don’t look nearly as professional and polished as Marie’s do, but I had a great time doing this craft!  This one is to the right of the window, next to the door to the backyard:

leaves-11

And these two are in the corner to the left of the window, over my computer desk:

leaves-21

Although I really do like the framed look better, I had a tight budget to work with.  I will get frames eventually (maybe for Christmas?) that will fit over canvas, but for now, I’m fine with the unfinished edges.  My concept is to change these out seasonally or as I get bored.  These will stay up until I get something together for Christmas.  I’m thinking simple scrapped pages with Christmas photo themes…  And I can easily change the papers out for new ones whenever the mood strikes.  Afterwards, I can keep them in an album for viewing, and reuse them whenever I feel like it.

I’m using Super Glue brand’s Handitak for anything that I don’t want to make permanent (i.e., affixing the paper to the canvas, a photo to a layout, etc.) so that, for example, if I make a Christmas layout I love, I can replace this year’s photos with next year’s, and use the same layouts for the basis of the wall-hanging, but with updated pictures.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

