how i knit to stay sane

August 1, 2008

It’s been a while….

Filed under: Uncategorized — K @ 11:03 pm

Well, there I went off the face of the earth again!  In recent posts, I promised pictures of Noah’s special birthday surprise.  He is snuggly under some serious usage of Vanna’s Choice, now!  Before you see the finished product, I must share with you that I believe knitting to be not so much a destination as a voyage of self-discovery.  And what I discovered about myself is… I don’t like intarsia.  Sure, it has its place.  But that place is not to be in most of my future projects!

But I stuck with it.  I persevered.  And I made my son maniacally happy.  Unfortunately, on a knitter’s high from the wool fumes in the Yarn Garden (don’t act like you don’t know what I’m talking about!), I promised my daughter that I’d make her the airplane blankie from the same book.  Maybe if I just tuck the supplies away for a while, I’ll have the fortitude to make her blanket as a present for her third birthday…. Or maybe, maybe, it should be a tradition to get the intarsia-blanket-from-hell as a 4th birthday gift.  Yeah… that gives me a year and a half until I have to finish it!  This is brilliant!  Maybe I can wait to work on it again until December ’09.  That gives me under a month to finish the project, and will be just the incentive I need!  Okay, intarsia is officially out of my mind!

1 Comment »

  1. So cute…. great job! Fourth birthday tradition sounds like a good idea.

    Enjoy your break… I’ll be watching for your news…

    Comment by ~jane — August 7, 2008 @ 9:39 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

