how i knit to stay sane

June 6, 2008

A Good Striped Dress of Sorts

Filed under: Uncategorized — K @ 8:48 am

I fell in love at first sight with A Good Striped Dress from Spring 2008 Interweave Knits. It’s such an adorable dress, but I could not fathom doing all that stockinette on size 2 needles (probably 1 for me to get gauge….) and fingering weight yarn! I mean, I love Catie and all, but I don’t know if I love her THAT much!

Okay, I do, but really, isn’t it just easier to rewrite the pattern to work on aran weight yarn and size 5 needles? (Hey! Who said no? What’s wrong with you?!?)

Using Barbara Walker’s Knitting from the Top, I rewrote the pattern (obviously inspired at least in part from the aforementioned book) to work with my gauge on the larger needles with Cotton-Ease yarn. It was a fairly quick knit, produced in about 9 days, but I didn’t have much else on the needles at the same time. The last couple of stripes were deadly, and casting off nearly resulted in my sticking a needle in my eye, but finally we have:


Catie is lovely in it, and really loves wearing it. She wore it for two and a half days straight before I forceably removed it for washing (it washed beautifully, by the way). Of course, when I pointed out to hubby that she refused to take it off for more than two days running, instead of saying, “Wow, Honey. You’ve made a masterpiece that even she realizes!”, he said “Yeah, she sure is stubborn.” (Hmm, wonder why I don’t make much for him….)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

