how i knit to stay sane

December 31, 2007

New Year’s Resolutions

Filed under: blog goals,knitting — K @ 2:45 pm

I don’t usually make New Year’s Resolutions, because I tend to just “do” what ever changes need to made. If I decide I want to lose weight, the date doesn’t matter, I don’t make an official timeline, I just *do* it. I’ve decided to give a try to some New Year’s Resolutions this year, though, because I want to make a few changes in how I organize my time, and how I organize my life. And I just decided it was the right time. And the time happens to be New Year’s Eve. While I have a few personal resolutions which I won’t share here, most concern my goals for knitting and for this blog, so maybe if I share here, it will help to hold me accountable.

Blog Goals:

  1. I want to update this blog 3 times a week, at least. (I’m planning to attempt daily during the week, but frankly, my life probably won’t allow for it!)
  2. I want to post a new tutorial once a month for a new technique, to chronicle the way I puzzle through the learning process. I’d like to include a short video clip and a series of photos.
  3. I want to join a blog ring, and get better at leaving comments. I enjoy reading so many blogs, but I get into “read-only” mode, where I don’t comment on how much I enjoy the writing, pictures and work of such talented people.
  4. Along the same lines, I really need to figure out how to update my blogroll, and list the blogs I enjoy reading.

Knitting Goals:

  1. Update my “mileage” at the completion of each project, instead of waiting so long, I forget what I finished!
  2. I want to “knit” a half-marathon this year: 13.2 miles of yarn in stitches on sweaters, socks, hats, and bags!
  3. I want to make one pair of socks a month, as a minimum (or 2 pairs, in kid sizes!)
  4. I want to make at least two sweaters for myself. Right now, I’m thinking one yoke sweater and one fair isle sweater (and steeking? Yikes!)
  5. And a sweater for each kid? Oh, boy, what am I getting myself into?!?
  6. I want to develop a pattern (I have one in mind….) to submit for publication. Double Yikes!

I mentioned the last one on a message board I’m on, and a friend said “What’s the worst that could happen?” My first thought was that it would get rejected. But then I realized, that would be disappointing, but not horrible. My worst fear is that it would be accepted, and the Yarn Harlot would curse my idiotic pattern, and Limenviolet would publicly ridicule it. Knitting circles across the country would pick up the latest issue of whatever magazine my work was in, and in flipping through the pages, passing judgment on the patterns (come on, we ALL do it!), some one would point a finger at my pattern, and say, “WHAT was she thinking?!?” Yeah, I’m a little neurotic. But I’m gonna do it. This year. That means I have 365 days, right? No one’s going to make me do it right away, right? (Oh yeah, it’s a Leap Year! I’ve got enough time!)

1 Comment »

  1. What wonderful goals! I enjoy reading your blog – so I hope that you can achieve your posting goals 🙂

    Comment by Jessica — January 1, 2008 @ 5:07 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

